Silver Tongue by Evelyn Ink Giveaway


Congratulations to Jacque G. who won an ebook copy of Silver Tongue by Evelyn Ink!

Happy reading!


Blog Tour: Andy Smithson Book 2: Venom of the Serpent’s Cunning by L.R.W. Lee

Andy Smithson: Venom of the Serpent’s Cunning
by L.R.W. Lee
Available Now!

Book Synopsis

Eleven-year-old Andy Smithson returns to Oomaldee to retrieve the second ingredient needed to break a 500-year-old curse. But Imogenia’s spirit, bent on thwarting Andy to preserve the curse, is now in league with the evil, scheming Abbadon. Things go from bad to worse when a creature Abaddon conjures from the darkest magic steals the Stone of Athanasia, the source of Hercalon V’s immortality, causing the king and his wizard Mermin to fall gravely ill. Andy is forced to choose between retrieving the stone or obediently going after the second ingredient. What will he chose? Will he be able to save the King and Mermin?

My Review

Andy Smithson: Venom of the Serpent’s Cunning picks up where the Dragon’s Fury left off. Andy has been home nine months with no contact with the land of Oomaldee because he broke a rule. But the powers that be believe Andy has learned his lesson and he is once again transported to Oomaldee to continue his search for the ingredients to break the curse. But will Andy learn to do as he’s told or will his stubbornness prevent him from helping those he loves most?

The second book in the Andy Smithson series starts off with excitement and unique situations. It grabbed my attention right away. For new readers, please go back and read the first book. Although the author does try to refresh our memories, it is a must to understand the second book.

The same characters have returned but we get to know them a little better and find out new traits that will help Andy on his quest. My favorite characters by far are the statues.

In this installment, Andy is far from reformed. He learned some good lessons in book one, but he still has much to learn and accept even if he doesn’t truly understand why yet.

The reader gets a glimpse of two new environments, the coastal Town of Ooggy and Sometimes Island. These settings are introduced with colorful description. Our hero is tested in both.

Book two is a little darker because of the seriously perilous situations Andy and his friends face. Along with a more advanced vocabulary, it pushes the target audience age group higher.

I did get confused about some details about the vulture-people, some things were a little too convenient, and the climax did resolve a little too easily for me. But this is only a part of Andy’s journey. He still has a long way to go and has many more shocking reveals to face.

Andy is picking up clues to his life at home as well. I’m looking to see what happens next.

Rating 4/5

Start the series here!


Andy Smithson: Blast of the Dragon’s Fury

Book 1

Amazon Paperback

FREE eBook (all versions) 

Read my review of Blast of the Dragon’s Fury here.

Connect with the Author
L.R.W. Lee

Author of Andy Smithson: Blast of the Dragon’s Fury and Andy Smithson: Venom of the Serpent’s Cunning
A middle grade (4th – 6th grade) fantasy adventure that entertains while teaching uncommon, life changing narratives. (Please follow me!) (All “Likes” are appreciated!)