Cherese Vines Charming Words

Follow the Vines to an Adventure

4 low-cost ways to get writing tuition if you can’t afford an editor

on August 1, 2013

Great thoughts for sharing

Nail Your Novel

jurvetson

I’ve just finished writing my first novel. I want to get published but I can’t pay for an editor. What can I do? Edith

Every week I get emails from writers who want help but can’t afford the cost of an editor. And I can see why. Good editors cost a big chunk of money and the job can’t be done cheaply. I don’t think seriously committed writers assume anything otherwise.

But sometimes, the writing world can seem like those schools where rich parents hothouse their kids by hiring personal tutors. If you don’t have the spare dollars, will you be left behind?

Not necessarily. Many of the writers I know never hired editors, yet we earned our spurs somehow. And you can still learn the way we did. It still works.

I probably sound like I’m doing myself out of a job here. Certainly a good editor will zoom…

View original post 765 more words

2 responses to “4 low-cost ways to get writing tuition if you can’t afford an editor

  1. Thanks for sharing my piece, Cherese!

Leave a Reply

