Cherese Vines Charming Words

Follow the Vines to an Adventure

Guest Post: Mirror Bound by Leanne Herrera

on October 22, 2012

“MY CAREER LIST”

BY LEANNE HERRERA

 

When I was barely in my teens, I made a list. Sort of a bucket list, but not of the things I wanted to do, like bungee jumping and such. No this was a list of jobs I wanted to do. Of course I had mother and wife on there, because that is what I am told little girls are supposed to have on there. Some of them are a bit unusual, you know things that most never think of being when they grow up.

One of the unusual jobs on my list was cab driver. I had never ridden in one before, but a friend of mine in elementary school took a cab to and from school every day. I thought that was really neat, I also thought that it was very expensive. I remember the little girl telling me that for her it was free because her father drove a cab. So every morning or afternoon one of his cab driving friends would pick her up and drop her off.

I was in awe over how many people they must meet on those drives and immediately added it to my list of jobs. When I was in my twenties, I got a job as a cab driver to try to make ends meet. My husband at the time was in the military and we had two small children. I drove the cab for a whole week. It doesn’t sound like much but it was and it was awful. Sure I got to meet a lot of interesting people, but I also had to deal with mean people as well.

Another job that made the list was waitress. I always liked how nice they were, no matter how mean some people were to them, well and I watched the television show Alice often. I wanted to be Flo. I worked as a waitress when I was twenty years old for the winter season. Not a season I would recommend in Georgia. Hunters and clubbers came in on my shift every night. I was always sore and tired, when I got off work and money was not very good either. I do not care how many tips you make, $2.13 is slave wages. I found a new respect for wait staff that winter that I have carried into my adulthood.

I have accomplished in some shape or form every single job that is on that list that I created thirty years ago. I have sung on several stages, thus making me a singer. I have acted in a few plays, making me an actress. I have sold a few pieces of art, there fore I am an artist. I have worked in an office, a grocery store and as a cook. When I was 19 I was a camp councilor in California. I wanted to be a college student and I now have a Bachelors degree in fine arts that I obtained when I was 41. I wanted to be a hairdresser.

I have added jobs as the years have gone on, and then worked hard to achieve them. I wanted to be very good at all the ones I tried. I did not just want to try them and see what it was like. I wanted to do my very best at them so I could tell my children I have done everything I ever wanted to do. The last one on my list was complicated, at least for me. I wanted to tell stories. Not to children in the library, but to my friends and family and those that wanted to read them. I have written several.

So I added author to the list a few months ago. I then took two of my finished stories and sent them off to a publisher. Both manuscripts were accepted. I was shocked, I thought no one would be interested in my fantasy stories. I was happy and excited. I have one book currently published, another one in editing and yet another half written on my jump drive.

All of those are paranormal romances. The next one though, it will be harder to write. As it will be about another one of the things that was on my list. It will be my grand daughters story. It will be the most difficult story I will ever have to write, but an important one about a very special miracle baby.

“MIRROR BOUND”

She came home to settle her great grandmothers affairs and figure out her own life. Finding out that her grandmother left her everything including magic powers she forgot to unbind before her death. Anna finds someone to love amidst the war against the woman that was supposed to love her and her twin sister. The mother goddess helps her gain her magic. Can Anna stop her mother before her mother stops her?

BUY LINKS:

AMAZON KINDLE

AMAZON PAPERBACK

Leanne Herrera is a mother and grandmother with a BFA in ceramics sculpture. She has always loved telling stories, whether it be in the form of her art, poetry or the written word. She has a love for books and animals. She has traveled the world, first with her father when he was in the military and then with her husband of twenty years who was also in the military. Right now she lives in Florida but one day hopes to own a farm with lots of rescue animals, where she can write and throw clay.

AUTHOR LINKS:

LEANNE’S BLOG

FACEBOOK

Leave a Reply

