Cherese Vines Charming Words

Follow the Vines to an Adventure

Get Registered and VOTE!

on September 17, 2012

To those of you thinking about not voting because you don’t think your vote counts: Remember all the people who gave their lives trying to get the right to vote. They thought it was important enough to die for. Don’t take this privilege for granted. It’s like a slap in the face to all those people who died, to all those who came before and those who currently serve, fight and die for you to keep that right.

There are people all over the world still struggling, fighting and dying to have a vote. If your vote doesn’t count, why is every one counted? Why was there an uproar in Florida about recounts? Every vote DOES count no matter where it is. One vote can make the difference of life or death on a jury.

So if you’re not going to vote, don’t complain. It’s easy to complain. But it’s difficult, and honorable, to try and make a constructive change. Your one vote could make the difference, you don’t know. Don’t take the chance betting against it.

History has shown us many times over that ONE person can change the course of a community, a nation and even the world. Change comes through one invention, one speech, one book, one vote. When you don’t vote, you’re letting someone else make decisions for you. When you don’t vote, you are saying that you don’t matter.

I don’t know about you, but I matter. And I’m going to make sure I’m heard. I agree with my pastor when he said that it doesn’t matter the party, gender or race of the candidate, as long as I feel they value what Christ values.

I’m not here to promote a candidate or a party or an ideology. I’m here to encourage you to vote. Participate in this life you’re living. When you’re not making life happen, then life happens to you. And I guarantee you won’t like that.

Ok I’m done. Oops! I tripped a little getting down off my soap box. (clearing my throat) Ok, now get ready to make something happen.

Go vote!

Leave a Reply

