Cherese Vines Charming Words

Follow the Vines to an Adventure

Hunt For Stellar 2-Star Reviews

on September 13, 2012

I use reviews to help me make decisions about things I’m looking at online. When I’m looking at books, restaurants, movies, or whatever, I hunt for the bad reviews (2 and 3 stars) in the list instead of looking at the 5 star reviews.

Usually, 4 and 5 star reviews just gush and don’t tell you why they liked it so much, and never mention anything at all negative. That is completely unrealistic. There’s got to be ONE thing that annoyed you ever so slightly. Like the server’s tie, that one annoying soundtrack song in the middle of the movie, or the author’s description of the MC’s car which incidentally is the model you drive. Something.

On the other hand, the 1 star reviews just bash it for no really good reason and usually go off on rants attacking the author’s cat, or the  server’s crooked tooth or the movie theater’s lack of brown paper napkins instead of white. Truly dumb stuff. By the way, they did NOT dupe you out of your hard earned cash. We all take a risk when we buy. Even if it DOES get stellar reviews, everyone doesn’t like the same things. Hey, a crooked-toothed server never bothered me. As long as I don’t find the tooth in my salad later, we’re good.

Bandwagons aren’t good for me. I can honestly say that I rarely watch Oscar winning movies. (Never seen Titanic) Usually I’m like: What? at the end. Blockbuster movies can let you down too. As do New York Times Best Sellers. People buy into what others buy into sometimes just because it has Oscar winner on the box or Best Seller on the cover. The awards don’t mean what they used to. So that’s why I tend to avoid something popular purely on principle. You know, having independent thoughts and all.

So here’s my weird thing about reading reviews, other than making a bee-line to the negative ones:

For me, reading a review of a particularly awful, soul-destroying book or movie, especially with good examples of awfulness and soul-destroyingness, makes me want to read or see the horrible thing just to see if it really is as bad as they say. I was just wondering if I’m the only one who feels like this.

Anyone else? He-llo?

4 responses to “Hunt For Stellar 2-Star Reviews

  1. trixycae says:

    I’m so relieved I’m not the only one that does this! I tend to read one or two 5 star reviews then head for the 2 and 3 stars as they usually point out valid issues with the piece of work. I don’t go as far as not watching or reading things that are over-hyped because I still want to see what the hype is all about (although I’ve never finished Titanic – urgh, too much for the” love” cynic in me). One book I’ve heard/read awful things about is Fifty Shades of Grey but I will NOT be letting curiosity override common sense for that one.

Leave a Reply

