Cherese Vines Charming Words

Follow the Vines to an Adventure

Interview: Author of Lately, and My Dreams

on May 6, 2012

Lately, and My Dreams by Jessica L. Lyons

See my book review here.

Tell us about yourself.

I am a wife and a mother and I absolutely love that about myself. I am very fond of traveling, but if I can’t go anywhere, I will rearrange the furniture in my home to make it seem like I’m somewhere new. I enjoy building and creating new things, especially with writing, where I have the opportunity to make people laugh. Laughing is one of my most favorite pastimes.

Do you remember when you started writing?

“Carl Goes Shopping.” This was probably the first “book” I ever wrote. My four and a half page stapled notebook paper, handwritten novel was written in the second or third grade, and it was about a dog whose owner leaves him in charge of watching her baby boy while she shopped at the mall. The story is written from the point of view of the baby and follows him and his dog on their adventures in the mall while Mommy is away. I don’t want to give too much away. I’m still considering putting it in to print, but copyrighting is the pits.

Did writing come naturally to you?

I don’t remember ever really being encouraged to write when I was younger, but I do know that I always liked creating stories and poetry in school when I was given the assignment to create them. I guess I can say that writing comes naturally, but I still find it hard to call myself a writer even today because it was usually something I did when I was moved to do so. As an adult, people do call upon me to write and so, I must answer the call.

 Lately, and My Dreams has your main character Aundri having some pretty crazy dreams. Were these actual dreams you’ve had? What inspired you to write them down? Yes. Dreaming. Literally. A good majority of my writing ideas originate from my dreams, plus I just love sleep. There is nothing quite like a restful sleep, a good meal, and a nice, tall, cold glass of juicy ice water. Lots of ice.

Laquanta was very funny. How do you come up with your characters?

Most characters, like my story ideas, come from my dreams. They develop as I write and so do the supporting characters. I find the need of my main characters and then I write supporting characters whose personalities fill those needs. So if one of my characters needs to unwind and kick off his or her shoes after a long day, I give them a best friend who has a  license in bar tending.

What do you think is the hardest part of writing?

Getting started. I have no problem writing. Once I start, it just flows out. Even if it turns out to be really bad, I’ll just go back and brainstorm and rewrite it again and again until it gets better. The hardest part of writing for me is walking over to my desk and opening my notebook (or computer).

What is your method for writing?

Normally I write until I feel the basic outline of the story is finished. After that, I attempt to give myself a reasonable goal to go back and flesh out the story, characters, and details, do the editing, and prepare it so that it can be released into nature.

Are you working on any new projects?

I am actually working on several projects right now. I have two or three books, a screenplay, and a stage play, as well as poetry book that I am working to get finished by, at the latest, the beginning of next year. Now you may be asking:  “How can you not call yourself a writer with so many projects in the works?” That’s just one of those complex mysteries of this non-fictional, fictitious world we live in. 

Who are some of your favorite authors?

Well, Cherese A. Vines, a brilliant published author, happens to be a very close and personal sister of mine. Now don’t go all “you’re bias because she’s your sister” on me. I’m not. I’m always on edge awaiting her next novel release. I love her writing because she is very creative, funny, entertaining and can make a wicked spaghetti and meatball. Now show me another writer that comes with a delicious meal like hers and I might consider perhaps think about entertaining the possibility of contemplating the idea of reading them.

What advice would you give to new writers?

Just write. If you have an idea that you feel is unique, creative and that others would enjoy and benefit from reading it, just write it. People, especially myself, prefer groundbreakers. There is no law that says you have to write in a particular style, or only use certain words, or limit your ideas to what people are already used to reading about. At least I don’t think there is a law that says that. I’m not exactly sure because I don’t really read much.

Is there anything else you would like your readers to know?

If you don’t laugh, then you just don’t get me at all.

Thank you for stopping by, Jessica. And thanks for the shout out. Lol.

Where to Find this Author

Available as an ebook for FREE through SmashwordsAmazon and Barnes and Noble.

Available in print through Amazon.

Leave a Reply

